Skip to main content

The right leader

Very few team sports have as much time (and media focus) devoted to picking the captain as cricket does. I've always felt that the traditional Australian view of picking the best team and then the captain is a great one because unless the captain is respected for his abilities as a player its a difficult job to direct team-mates. They seem to be violating their own principles with their T20 team though by picking Michael Clarke as the captain. He averages less than 20 after 19 matches (which is not a small number in this format) and hits less than one boundary a game. Moreover he hasn't played the IPL and nor was he a part of the Champions League winning NSW team.

And yet, he's been given the job of trying to win the Aussies the only global tournament they have not made the finals of even once. Granted that other captains (Younis Khan is a good example) have led their teams brilliantly without themselves being very suited to the format, but Pakistan had very few options. Australia on the other hand has a very credible candidate in Cameron White who is among the first names on the team-sheet these days (even for ODIs). The rest of the squad though certainly looks like it'll put up a better challenge than the previous two world cup teams come April in the West Indies. The selection of Steve Smith is particularly exciting though I'm surprised to see that Nathan Hauritz hasn't been picked especially given how successful slower bowlers have been in this format (to the extent that even South Africa regularly picks two).

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Et tu?

As a single sport website, I think Cricinfo has brought about a revolution and the fact that they were bought by ESPN is testament to how highly valued they've become. Their editing and approach to articles/opinion has been refreshing to say the least and even though they seem to have had a lot of editorial staff movement they've usually maintained very high standards. Off late though, both in their headline styles as well as in actual content, there seems to be an occasional slippage of standards and an inching towards the modern media sensationalism which is a bit of a pity. This piece  by Siddharth Monga is a classic example. Granted that the last two press conferences by Dhoni and Sehwag  indicated clearly that the captain and his deputy did not agree on this aspect of selection but "discord", "dissent", "public sniping" feels rather presumptuous and heavy handed. Yes, it is a team sport but there is no reason why everyone on the team needs ...

A kick up the backside

Its very interesting (and revealing) that so many Indian cricketers pull up their socks and become better players once they've been dropped from the side and left out in the cold for a while. The trend is even more prevalent currently when the selectors have a larger pool of good players to choose from. Dravid (from the one-day team), Kumble, Ganguly, Sehwag, Yuvraj, Zaheer, Harbhajan, the list goes on. In fact, the only people I can think of who haven't been dropped at any point in recent years are Tendulkar (in any form of the game), and Dravid (from the Test team). This article in the TOI attributes their post-drop performance improvements (at least in Yuvraj's case and a few more as well) to anger. I'm not too sure I agree. I think its more a generic Indian mentality of taking things easy and getting soft and comfortable too easily. Its a national trait and one that needs great guarding against. I've discovered the hard way how getting physically unfit or slack...

Much ado about a run-out

Judging by the amount that's been said and written about Ian Bell's run-out-that-wasn't at Trent Bridge, you would think that it has been the most significant occurrence of the series so far when nothing could be further from the truth. Andrew Miller  and Samir Chopra seem to be of the opinion that it was the crucial turning point in the match, which I completely disagree with (the post-tea sessions on days one and two were far more critical and momentum shifting). Andy Flower says that if Tendulkar had been run-out similarly in Bombay, it would have caused an international incident. He's clearly feeling the effects of having been in the England cricket set-up for too long given that a) its very improbable that Tendulkar would do something as daft as Bell did, and b) when a controversial run-out (but within the laws) did happen to him (against Pakistan at Eden Gardens no less), Tendulkar went out to the crowd and appealed to them to calm down and let the game proceed...