Skip to main content

The second best ODI team in the world

The way this current India-Australia series is shaping up it seems that the second best ODI team in the World would be an Australian second XI! They are missing five first choice players in Clarke, Haddin, Lee, Bracken, and Hopes (six if you include Symonds) plus a near first choice in Ferguson and a back-up player in Paine. And now with Siddle and Henriques injured, they are further depleted. If you add in the fact that the two Davids (Warner and Hussey) haven't been picked, that's a full set of 12 players that could easily form a world beating team. And despite all this, the series score is at 2-2 against an Indian side that's missing only Zaheer Khan!

This also goes to show how far behind the Indian team is that they can't seem to overcome a virtual second XI from Australia and at home to boot. The biggest worry will be the lack of consistency and improvement shown by the younger players (with Praveen Kumar a notable exception). Raina, Rohit Sharma, Jadeja, Yusuf and Irfan Pathan, Ishant Sharma, Kohli, Uthappa, Sreesanth have all failed to kick on after impressive starts to their careers. The fact that they are all quite young means that there is still hope but they need to improve their temperaments and adaptability to be consistently successful. Hopefully they can do so by the time the World Cup rolls around.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Et tu?

As a single sport website, I think Cricinfo has brought about a revolution and the fact that they were bought by ESPN is testament to how highly valued they've become. Their editing and approach to articles/opinion has been refreshing to say the least and even though they seem to have had a lot of editorial staff movement they've usually maintained very high standards. Off late though, both in their headline styles as well as in actual content, there seems to be an occasional slippage of standards and an inching towards the modern media sensationalism which is a bit of a pity. This piece  by Siddharth Monga is a classic example. Granted that the last two press conferences by Dhoni and Sehwag  indicated clearly that the captain and his deputy did not agree on this aspect of selection but "discord", "dissent", "public sniping" feels rather presumptuous and heavy handed. Yes, it is a team sport but there is no reason why everyone on the team needs ...

A kick up the backside

Its very interesting (and revealing) that so many Indian cricketers pull up their socks and become better players once they've been dropped from the side and left out in the cold for a while. The trend is even more prevalent currently when the selectors have a larger pool of good players to choose from. Dravid (from the one-day team), Kumble, Ganguly, Sehwag, Yuvraj, Zaheer, Harbhajan, the list goes on. In fact, the only people I can think of who haven't been dropped at any point in recent years are Tendulkar (in any form of the game), and Dravid (from the Test team). This article in the TOI attributes their post-drop performance improvements (at least in Yuvraj's case and a few more as well) to anger. I'm not too sure I agree. I think its more a generic Indian mentality of taking things easy and getting soft and comfortable too easily. Its a national trait and one that needs great guarding against. I've discovered the hard way how getting physically unfit or slack...

Much ado about a run-out

Judging by the amount that's been said and written about Ian Bell's run-out-that-wasn't at Trent Bridge, you would think that it has been the most significant occurrence of the series so far when nothing could be further from the truth. Andrew Miller  and Samir Chopra seem to be of the opinion that it was the crucial turning point in the match, which I completely disagree with (the post-tea sessions on days one and two were far more critical and momentum shifting). Andy Flower says that if Tendulkar had been run-out similarly in Bombay, it would have caused an international incident. He's clearly feeling the effects of having been in the England cricket set-up for too long given that a) its very improbable that Tendulkar would do something as daft as Bell did, and b) when a controversial run-out (but within the laws) did happen to him (against Pakistan at Eden Gardens no less), Tendulkar went out to the crowd and appealed to them to calm down and let the game proceed...