Skip to main content

Better than expected

After the first nine days of the tournament, I have to say that the quality of matches has been better than expected, maybe because so many of the top teams are relatively evenly matched making results difficult to predict. Still early in the tournament, but so far Australia, South Africa and Pakistan look a cut above the rest which I suppose points to the fact that in sub-continental conditions the teams with the best bowling will usually be on top in a tournament this long. India have been shockingly poor in the field even by their usually indifferent standards and a semi-final place will need a lot of luck.

The scheduling of the tournament is still the worst part of it though. Why there aren't two matches each day is unfathomable as is the fact that India play South Africa in Nagpur where crowds aren't bothering to turn up whereas Eden Gardens plays host to Ireland v. Netherlands and Kenya v. Zimbabwe, surely the two most anticipated clashes! ;-) Politics is clearly well and alive in Indian cricket scheduling and its a pity that the ICC doesn't come down more heavily on these sorts of goings-on.

So my predictions after the first round of data would be Australia vs. India in one semi and South Africa vs. Pakistan in the other. After that the head and the heart diverge. India vs. Pakistan at the Wankhede on Apr 2nd would be lovely but my feeling is it will be Aus vs. SA with the Proteas to win their first title. I'm sure I'll be eating my words soon but lets see :-)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Et tu?

As a single sport website, I think Cricinfo has brought about a revolution and the fact that they were bought by ESPN is testament to how highly valued they've become. Their editing and approach to articles/opinion has been refreshing to say the least and even though they seem to have had a lot of editorial staff movement they've usually maintained very high standards. Off late though, both in their headline styles as well as in actual content, there seems to be an occasional slippage of standards and an inching towards the modern media sensationalism which is a bit of a pity. This piece  by Siddharth Monga is a classic example. Granted that the last two press conferences by Dhoni and Sehwag  indicated clearly that the captain and his deputy did not agree on this aspect of selection but "discord", "dissent", "public sniping" feels rather presumptuous and heavy handed. Yes, it is a team sport but there is no reason why everyone on the team needs ...

A kick up the backside

Its very interesting (and revealing) that so many Indian cricketers pull up their socks and become better players once they've been dropped from the side and left out in the cold for a while. The trend is even more prevalent currently when the selectors have a larger pool of good players to choose from. Dravid (from the one-day team), Kumble, Ganguly, Sehwag, Yuvraj, Zaheer, Harbhajan, the list goes on. In fact, the only people I can think of who haven't been dropped at any point in recent years are Tendulkar (in any form of the game), and Dravid (from the Test team). This article in the TOI attributes their post-drop performance improvements (at least in Yuvraj's case and a few more as well) to anger. I'm not too sure I agree. I think its more a generic Indian mentality of taking things easy and getting soft and comfortable too easily. Its a national trait and one that needs great guarding against. I've discovered the hard way how getting physically unfit or slack...

Much ado about a run-out

Judging by the amount that's been said and written about Ian Bell's run-out-that-wasn't at Trent Bridge, you would think that it has been the most significant occurrence of the series so far when nothing could be further from the truth. Andrew Miller  and Samir Chopra seem to be of the opinion that it was the crucial turning point in the match, which I completely disagree with (the post-tea sessions on days one and two were far more critical and momentum shifting). Andy Flower says that if Tendulkar had been run-out similarly in Bombay, it would have caused an international incident. He's clearly feeling the effects of having been in the England cricket set-up for too long given that a) its very improbable that Tendulkar would do something as daft as Bell did, and b) when a controversial run-out (but within the laws) did happen to him (against Pakistan at Eden Gardens no less), Tendulkar went out to the crowd and appealed to them to calm down and let the game proceed...